Bangladesh women’s cricket team became champion in Asia cup

Bangladesh beat six-time champions India by three wickets in a thrilling final to lift Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup on Sunday.

This is the first time for Bangladesh women’s team to win title of a tournament in their cricket history. Bangladesh clinched the title for the first time beating six time Asian champion India by 3 wickets.

After losing the toss India were in batting at the Kinrara oval academy field in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday. The match started at 12 pm Bangladesh standard time.

Opted to field at first rejoice started with the run out of Mahananda when India’s run was 12. India were in disaster after losing wickets of Dipti Sharma on 26 runs, Mitali Raj on 28 runs and Anuja Patil on 32 runs.

But Harmanpreet was stable on other side. She hammered a fine innings of 56 runs off 42 balls and was out in the last ball of the innings. In her innings there were 7 boundaries.

Car AccessoriesBangladesh women’s cricket team became champion in Asia cup

Read Also : Virat Kohli on Forbes 100 richest athletes

Romana and Khadiza took two wickets each and Salma and Jahanara took one wicket each for Bangladesh side.

Bangladesh women’s cricket team became champion in Asia cupBangladesh women’s cricket team became champion in Asia cup

To achieve the target of 113 runs, the beginning of Bangladesh was very good. Shamima Sultana and Ayesha Rahman put 35 runs on the scoreboard in 7 overs. Then Bangladesh was in pressure after losing two wickets in just two balls.

Then Farhana Haque came and made a 20 run pair with Nigar Sultana. Then Farhana left the crease and after that when the total runs were 83 then Nigar also went to the pavilion.

Aftermath Fahima Khatun and Rumana Ahmed made a pair but could not go for long. Fahima was out when the total runs were 96 and seemed that they were losing. But experienced Rumana was giving her full efforts to make a dream come true.

Rumana hammered three boundaries in an over of Jhulan Goshwami and thus the game leaned on Bangladesh. Jhulan gave 17 runs in that over.

But Rumana was out when Bangladesh were 2 runs behind the target. In the last ball Jahanara Alam took two runs to win the title of the Asia cup.

Punam Yadav took 4 wickets for India while Harmenpreet took 2. Rumana Ahmed was adjudicated player of the match for her important 23 runs innings and picking up 2 wickets.

Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur was adjudicated player of the tournament for her extraordinary performances throughout the tournament.

Read Also : Dus Ka Dum made a comeback to the small screen


0 0 votes
Article Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x