India won the Nidahas trophy and beat Bangladesh by four wickets

India won the Nidahas trophy and beat Bangladesh by four wickets. It’s all over! Dinesh Karthik smashed a six off the last ball to help India beat Bangladesh.

Chasing 167, India needed 34 runs from 12 balls when Karthik came to the crease. The batsman whacked 22 from the 19th over bowled by Rubel Hossain to ease the pressure

Dinesh Karthik hit 29 off just 8 balls to deny Bangladesh a remarkable win and give India the Nidahas Trophy on Sunday.

Dinesh Karthik probably played the knock of his life scoring 29 off just eight balls including a six over the cover on the last ball to help India pull off sensational four-wicket victory over Bangladesh in the Nidahas Twenty20 Tri-Series final in Colombo.

Read Also : Kevin Pietersen appears to retire from cricket

The 18th over, bowled by Mustafizur Rahman, was magnificent to say the least, as he beat Vijay Shankar on four deliveries to concede just one in the over.

It meant skipper Shakib Al Hasan had to turn to part-time bowler Soumya Sarkar to bowl the decisive final over, where he had to defend 11 to seal the win.

The first ball was a wide followed by a dot while Karthik took a single in the next. Vijay now hit a four but gave a catch to Mehidy Hasan Miraz to await a breathtaking final ball where India had to hit a six.

And Karthik did exactly what was needed, breaking the hearts of the Bangladesh fans in yet another final. The Tigers have now lost in all the five finals they have played.

Skipper Rohit Sharma had earlier gave India hope with 56 off 42 balls, courtesy of four fours and three sixes, but Bangladesh bowlers kept striking every now and then to keep the Indians in check.

The wicketkeeper-batsman was named the ‘Man of the Match’ while Sundar was adjudged the ‘Player of the Series’.

During the last encounter between these two teams, Rohit Sharma struck a brilliant 61-ball 89 and was well supported by Suresh Raina as India edged past Bangladesh by 17 runs.

The summit clash of the series will be the eighth T20 face off between the two teams. Rohit Sharma & Co have emerged victorious in all the previous seven occasions. Also, India have won nine of their 11 games at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.


India’s Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (w), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bangladesh’s Probable XI: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x