David Warner and Steve Smith banned for one year

David Warner and Steve Smith banned for one year. Steve Smith, David Warner get 12-month bans, Cameron Bancroft cops 9-month suspension.

Australia Cricket banned Steve Smith and David Warner have both or 12 months from all format of play.

The punishments were leaked by the Australian cricket writers in South Africa on Twitter — and later confirmed by Cricket Australia.

Their roles in the ball-tampering controversy in South Africa, according to an Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) report on Wednesday.

Read Also : Kevin Pietersen appears to retire from cricket

Captain Smith, vice-captain Warner and batsman Cameron Bancroft have all been sent home from South Africa for their role in a scandal that has rocked Australian cricket.

I understand that Steve Smith and David Warner are getting a 12-month ban from the game in Australia,” ABC’s chief cricket commentator Jim Maxwell was quoted as saying in the report.

“I don’t know how that affects them elsewhere in the world, but I understand that is the nature of the penalty, the sanction as they like to call it.”

Maxwell was unaware about the fate of Cameron Bancroft, who was caught on camera scuffing up the ball during the Cape Town test against South Africa.

CA chief James Sutherland is expected to officially announce “significant sanctions” for the trio at a news conference in Johannesburg later on Wednesday.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x