Bangladesh beat hosts West Indies by 18 runs and won the series

This is Bangladesh’s first series win outside of Asia for nine years, set up by their highest total in an ODI against the West Indies.

Winning the toss, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe had opted to bat first. The openers made a slow start, getting 39 in the first wicket in 9.3 overs before West Indies captain Jason Holder removed Anamul, who made 10 in 31 balls.

Opener Tamim Iqbal hit a century again while Mahmudullah slammed a brilliant 67 as Bangladesh scored 301.

With the series all square following the hosts’ thrilling three-run win in the second match under lights in Guyana on Wednesday, Bangladesh set the pace in this decider with their top-order batting justifying the decision by captain Mashrafe Mortaza to bat first after he won the toss for the third consecutive time.

Car AccessoriesBangladesh beat hosts West Indies by 18 runs and won the series

Chasing 302, Caribbean openers Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis made a decent start, hitting 53 in the first 10 overs.

West Indies batsman Rovman Powell gave the Tigers a scare with his 74 off 41, but the visiting bowlers held on for a famous win.

Bangladesh beat hosts West Indies by 18 runs and won the seriesBangladesh beat hosts West Indies by 18 runs and won the series

However, the latter was not having his best day, managing just 13 in 33 balls. At the end of the game, this looked one of the reasons where the hosts lost the game.

The ODI series win is a relief for the Tigers, who had lost the Test series badly.

Up next is the T20 series, but they are certain to miss their ODI captain great Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Jul 31, Tuesday                                  Windies vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I
Aug 04, Saturday                                 Windies vs Bangladesh, 2nd T20I
Aug 05, Sun                                           Windies vs Bangladesh, 3rd T20I

Bangladesh Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam, Anamul Haque, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Abu Hider Rony

West Indies Squad: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope(w), Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder(c), Devendra Bishoo, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Ashley Nurse, Jason Mohammed

Read Also : BCB not to allow Mustafiz in overseas T20 leagues for next two years


0 0 votes
Article Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x